The myths of room acoustics

Tisch_Stuhl.png

Foam under tables and chairs?

This myth has lasted for decades. In conventional rooms, unpleasant room acoustics arise from the first wall and ceiling reflections. In the floor area, the sound is mostly already partially absorbed and scattered by furniture and people. Attaching sound absorbers below tables and chairs has only minimal effects and is more likely to be described as pseudo-acoustics.

Teppich.png

Clean the carpet and everything is fine?

Here it is similar to the sound absorbers under chairs and tables. the     disturbing wall and ceiling reflections are preserved. In addition, carpets (depending on the carpet thickness) absorb in a frequency range above 800Hz, with the unpleasant reverberation mostly occurring in the middle range. Pure treble absorption also sounds rather unnatural and not balanced. Carpets can be used as a support - professional room acoustics optimization is not conceivable with carpets alone.

A_Absorber.png

Are A-absorbers always the best choice?


Unfortunately, in many cases the wrong sound absorber is used according to the motto "absorber is absorber". In order to be able to choose the right absorber, one has to understand which frequency ranges in the room are disturbing or in which   Frequency ranges the human voice behaves like. Porous high frequency absorbers (mostly class A absorbers) in lecture or conference rooms are rather counterproductive as they minimize the frequencies of speech intelligibility. On the other hand, the unpleasant reverberation in public rooms is usually between 150-800Hz and not> 1kHz. The correct choice of absorber should always be made with a view to the benefit, and the equally important position of the absorber in the room should be chosen.

Schaumstoff.jpg

Convoluted foam in recording rooms?


In many recording rooms or speaker booths, too many surfaces on the walls and ceiling are clad with convoluted foam. Foams have a very absorptive effect, especially in the high frequency range. As a result, rooms with too much foam sound rather dull in the upper frequency range and take away from the speaker the lack of presence and thus speech intelligibility of the voice.

Pflanze.jpg

Plants: acoustically effective or Feng Shui?


Basically, every material is acoustically effective. The only question is in what way? Each material has an absorption and a reflection factor in the different frequency ranges. With classic porous absorbers such as foams, curtains, etc., the sound energy is converted into heat through friction. How well a porous absorber works depends on the thickness, the length-related flow resistance and the structure of the absorber. Plants indicate by the very open       Arrangement of leaves, branches and styles or due to the coarse structure only minimal absorption.

Die Mythen der Raumakustik

Schaumstoff unter Tischen und Stühle?

Dieser Mythos hält schon über Jahrzehnte. Eine unangenehme Raumakustik entsteht in herkömmlichen Räumen über die ersten Wand und Deckenreflexionen.Im Bereich des Bodens wird der Schall meist durch Mobiliar und Personen bereits teilweise absorbiert und gestreut. Das Anbringen von Schallabsorbern unterhalb von Tischen und Stühlen hat nur minimale Auswirkungen und ist eher als Pseudoakustik zu bezeichnen.

Teppich rein und alles ist gut?

Hier ist es ähnlich wie bei den Schallabsorber unter Stühlen und Tischen. Die     störenden Wand und Deckenreflexionen bleiben erhalten. Dazu kommt, dass Teppiche (abhängig von der Teppichstärke) in einem Frequenzbereich oberhalb von 800Hz absorbieren, wobei der unangenehme Nachhall meist im Mittenbereich entsteht. Eine reine Höhenabsorption klingt auch eher unnatürlich, und nicht ausgewogen. Teppiche können unterstützend eingesetzt werden - eine professionelle raumakustische Optimierung ist mit Teppichen alleine allerdings nicht denkbar.

Sind A-Absorber immer die beste Wahl?


Leider wird in vielen Fällen der falsche Schallabsorber nach dem Motto "Absorber ist Absorber" eingesetzt. Um den richtigen Absorber auswählen zu können, muss man verstehen, welche Frequenzbereiche im Raum störend sind bzw. in welchen    Frequenzbereichen die menschliche Stimme sich wie verhält. Poröse Hochtonabsorber (meist Klasse A-Absorber) in Vortrags- oder Konferenzräumen sind eher kontraproduktiv, da sie die Frequenzen der Sprachverständlichkeit minimieren. Hingegen liegt in öffentlichen Räumen der unangenehme Nachhall meist zwischen 150-800Hz und nicht >1kHz. Es sollte immer in Hinblick auf den Nutzen die richtige Auswahl der Absorber erfolgen und die ebenso wichtige Position der Absorber im Raum gewählt werden.

Noppenschaumstoff in Aufnahmeräumen?


In vielen Aufnahmeräumen oder Sprecherkabinen werden oft zu viele Flächen an den Wänden und der Decke mit Noppenschaumstoff verkeidet. Schaumstoffe haben vor allem im Hochtonbereich eine sehr absorptive Wirkung. Dadurch klingen Räume mit zu viel Schaumstoff eher dumpf im oberen Freqzenzbereich und nehmen dem Sprecher die fehlende Präsenz und somit Sprachverständlichkeit der Stimme.

Pflanzen: Akustisch wirksam oder Feng Shui?


Akustisch wirksam ist grundsätzlich jedes Material. Es stellt sich nur die Frage in welcher Art und Weise? Jedes Material besitzt in den unterschiedlichen Frequenzbereichen einen Absorptions- und einen Reflexionsfaktor. Bei den klassischen porösen Absorbern, wie Schaumstoffe, Vorhänge etc. wird durch Reibung die Schallenergie in Wärme umgewandelt. Wie gut ein poröser Absorber funktioniert, hängt von der Dicke, des längenbezogenen Strömungswiderstandes und der Struktur des Absorbers ab. Pflanzen weisen durch die sehr offene        Anordnung der Blätter, Äste und Stile bzw. durch die grobe Struktur nur eine minimale Absorption auf.

Copyright © 2020 raumecho - Alle Rechte vorbehalten - Ingenieurbüro für Bauphysik